Home/
Manage Data/Delete Data

Delete and Restore Data

BaseSpace Sequence Hub stores data for sequencing runs, samples, projects, and analyses. You can manage the data in your account and save space by deleting files that you no longer need.

The process to delete data requires two steps: move the data to trash, and then empty the trash. You can restore files that have been moved to trash.

note

The BaseSpace Developers site offers an API to delete base call and related run files (FASTQ and analysis files are not deleted). Use this option to keep a record of a run and its metadata, while reducing storage costs. Contact your IT department or system administrator for assistance.

Delete Runs

1. Select the Runs tab, and then one or more runs to delete.
2. Select Move to Trash.
3. Select the run file types to delete.
Data files only—Deletes the data folder but keeps SAV data.
Data files and the run record—Deletes the data folder and any links to projects but keeps SAV data.
All run related files—Deletes all files, data, and project links associated with the run.
4. Verify the deletion, and then select Confirm.

Delete a Project

1. Do 1 of the following on the Projects tab:
Select a project to delete.
Open a project to delete.
2. Select Move to Trash.
3. Verify the deletion, and then select Confirm.

Delete a Sample

1. Select the Projects tab.
2. Select the project containing the sample to delete.
3. Select the checkboxes for the samples to delete.
4. Select Move to Trash.
5. Verify the deletion, and then select Confirm.

Delete an Analysis

1. Select the Projects tab.
2. Select the project containing the analysis to delete.
3. Select Analyses, and then select the checkbox of the samples to delete.
4. Select Move to Trash.
5. Verify the deletion, and then select Confirm.

Restore Deleted Data

1. Select the Trash icon.
2. In the Trash window, select the files you want to restore.
3. Select Restore.

Permanently Remove Deleted Data

1. Select the Trash icon.
2. Select Empty Trash.