Share Your Desktop

Fill in the following information, using the meeting code you received from Technical Support. Then select Continue to join the meeting.

GoToAssist  POWERED BY GoToAssist™
 

Use this tool to allow a member of the Illumina Technical Support Team to view your desktop and share control of your mouse and keyboard.

Find the answers to security questions and system configuration requirements in our FAQ below. You can also view a demonstration of a screen-sharing session.

How It Works

Step 1

Contact Technical Support (see numbers at the bottom of this page). A member of our Technical Support Team will direct you to this page and provide a unique connection code. Enter the code and select Continue to initiate the screen-sharing session.

Step 2

You will be prompted to download a small virus-free plug-in.

Step 3

With your permission, your Technical Support representative can view your screen and share control of your mouse and keyboard.

You are in full control of your computer at all times. You can override control of your mouse and keyboard, and you can end the screen-sharing session at any time.

Frequently Asked Questions

Once you connect to the service, you are prompted to download a small, self-installing plug-in, which allows your support representative to view your desktop and share control of your mouse and keyboard. At any time during a support session, you can take control of your computer just by moving your mouse. You will be in charge at all times.
Absolutely not. Your representative sees only what you see and whatever you permit him or her to see on your computer screen. Before your support representative views your screen, he or she will first ask your permission and request that you close all documents containing private information.
At the beginning of a screen-sharing session, you and your support representative are connected via a communication server. The screen data that is passed between you and your support representative during a session is highly compressed using proprietary technology that can be viewed only with GoToAssist software. This data is also encrypted using 128-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption. Privacy principles are TRUSTe compliant. After the session has ended, your support representative can no longer see your screen or access your computer unless you make another explicit request for support.

For your support representative to view your desktop, your computer should meet these requirements:

  • 28.8Kbps or greater Internet connection (56K recommended)
  • Pentium-class PC running Windows 95, 98, 2000, Me, NT 4.0, or XP
  • Internet Explorer 4.0 or later, Netscape Navigator 4.0 or later, or Mozilla Firefox 1.0 or later
  • Recommended: Ability to make direct outgoing TCP connections, or availability of a SOCKS server or an HTTP proxy

Yes, the plug-in is safe. We're as concerned as you are about this issue, so regular virus checks and updates are conducted. This helps us maintain our technology at the highest standard to ensure superior quality service. The warning message you might see on your screen is a default message displayed by your browser when you download executable files. You can feel confident using this plug-in.

The downloaded file stays on your computer; however, the file is useless without a new encryption key. To download a new encryption key, you need to initiate a subsequent session with a support representative. Screen-sharing sessions have to be initiated by you, not a support representative.